Why go broke for Christmas?

It’s January. Our wallets are empty from Christmas and we’re desperately trying to maintain whatever new year resolution(s) we’ve set it place so we can make 2016 the best year yet. Have you stuck to your goals or already fallen off the wagon?

But let’s go back to those wallets that need to be replenished and talk about why we feel the need to go broke during December and over spend on presents.

As Mr. ShuTown and I wrapped our son’s presents this year we looked at them and then at each other and questioned whether we bought him enough. Looking at the minimal presents that were going to be under the tree made us feel as though we were cheating him out of gifts. He’s three! Of course we bought him enough! He is just beginning to understand what Christmas and his birthday (which falls 8 days before Christmas) is all about. He doesn’t know how much is a lot! We spent MORE than enough money on him, and he’s already forgotten about half of the presents he opened.

My question throughout the holiday season was what will bring our family more happiness in the long run, the stress of going into debt for the sake of opening presents, or creating memories and traditions and spending quality time together? I feel like anyone would answer that one with memories and traditions, yet we still break the bank to flood our living rooms with presents.

Christmas happened after I had my money makeover and I had to remind my husband and myself of what this season was all about and what we wanted to teach our son about the holiday season. We desire to have Mr. Cheeks appreciate the gifts he’s been given, (while we don’t go into debt over it) to remember the traditions we’ve created, and to celebrate the reason for the season – the birth of Jesus Christ.

We don’t want to teach him that we wake up on Christmas Day to find an excess of THINGS we don’t really need. We want to teach him that Christmas time is a time to celebrate Jesus, but is also a time where Santa will bring us a few special things just because and to be thankful for those special gifts.

Growing up, my family was never big on presents. My mother did a phenomenal job of getting us the few presents we REALLY desired, and then filled the rest of her budget with items we needed or that she thoughtfully picked out for us. I remember comparing my Christmas load to my other friends and feeling let down because Santa brought them so many great things, while I just got one or two exciting presents.

What I failed to realize then is that it wasn’t all about the presents; it was about the memories made and the people those memories were made with.

Now as an adult who lives far away from family, I look back and long for the big family get-together on Christmas Eve where time was spent catching up with Aunts and Uncles from far away, and visiting with close family friends that felt like family. I don’t remember the gifts I opened, I remember the happiness I felt being surrounded by those that I love the most.

As Mr. Cheeks grows up and becomes increasingly aware of presents, toys, and possessions, Mr. ShuTown and I plan to keep our giving to what is in our budget, and to fill our son’s holiday memories with exciting traditions and experiences. His memories will last him a lifetime, while the latest Paw Patrol or Blaze the Monster Machine toy will be thrown in a storage tub before the end of the year with all the forgotten toys of years past. That’s the beauty of memories, they last forever and get passed down to future generations.

How does Christmas go for you? Do you break the bank and go all out with presents galore, or do you focus on the special moments and traditions? Will you be changing anything for next year?

 

 

Leave a comment